The following is excerpted from the Church News. To read the full article, CLICK HERE

Since becoming President of the Church in January 2018, President Russell M. Nelson has announced locations for 118 temples, beginning with seven identified during the April 2018 general conference and on through the 18 locations announced in the concluding session of October 2022 general conference.

Of the 118 temple he has announced, the breakdown in current status is:

  • 3 temples dedicated
  • 4 temples scheduled for dedication
  • 43 temples under construction
  • 4 temples scheduled for groundbreaking
  • 29 temples with site locations identified
  • 36 announced temples still in planning and design

Below is a list of all 118 temples and each’s status as of the end of March 2023 — from dedicated and operational to scheduled for dedication, from under construction to scheduled for groundbreaking, and from those with site locations announced to those still in planning and design. Also noted are temples that have been renamed from the original city locations as announced.

For temples still under preliminary design and development, only the announced city is listed.

Listed temple dedications and groundbreakings where a member of the First Presidency or Quorum of the Twelve Apostles presided are noted.

April 2018 general conference

President Nelson announced seven temples on April 1, 2018, in the closing session of April 2018 general conference, the first temple locations he announced as President of the Church.

At the end of March 2023, five years later, one temple is scheduled for dedication, four have been under construction since 2020, and two are still in planning and design stages.

To read the full article, CLICK HERE