The following is excerpted from the Church News. To read the full article, CLICK HERE.

President Russell M. Nelson will dedicate the renovated Washington D.C. Temple on Sunday, Aug. 14, with the entire First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints participating in the day’s three rededication sessions.

Joining President Nelson and his counselors, President Dallin H. Oaks and President Henry B. Eyring, other Church leaders participating in the sessions at 10 a.m., 1:30 p.m. and 5 p.m. will include Elders Quentin L. CookD. Todd Christofferson and Gerrit W. Gong of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles; Presiding Bishop Gérald CausséElder Paul V. Johnson of the Presidency of the Seventy; Sister Amy A. Wright, first counselor in the Primary general presidency; and Elders W. Mark BassettKevin R. DuncanAllen D. Haynie and Vai Sikahema, all General Authority Seventies.

The announcement of participating Church leaders was published Wednesday, Aug. 3, on

Announced in 1968 and dedicated in 1974 by Church President Spencer W. Kimball, the temple became the Church’s 16th in operation. Less than a half-century later, 173 dedicated temples are found across the globe, with 51 more under construction and an additional 58 announced and in planning.

Known for its mid-century modern architecture and prominence along the Capital Beltway, the 160,000-square-foot temple stands on 52 acres. Located in Kensington, Maryland, 10 miles north of the United States Capitol, the temple serves approximately 123,000 Latter-day Saints in the District of Columbia and all or parts of Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia.

To read the full article, CLICK HERE.