The following is excerpted from the Church Newsroom. To read the full article, CLICK HERE.

Area leadership assignments have been announced by the First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The changes affect area presidencies and will become effective on August 1, 2023.

Members of area presidencies are General Authority Seventies or Area Seventies. Area presidencies consist of a president and two counselors who operate from area offices in each assigned area.

View PDF of area presidencies effective August 1, 2023.

There are 23 areas in the Church of Jesus Christ – six that span the United States and Canada and 17 additional areas outside of those two countries.

Beginning in 1984, areas were established to direct the work in geographic locations of the global Church. The area presidencies for the U.S. and Canada work from Church headquarters in Salt Lake City, Utah. The Church’s Middle East/Africa North Area is also administered from headquarters.

“The Seventy are to act in the name of the Lord, under the direction of the Twelve … in building up the Church and regulating all the affairs of the same in all nations” (see Doctrine and Covenants 107:34).

To read more about the newly called Church leadership, CLICK HERE.