President Dallin H. Oaks of the First Presidency of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints announced the calls of 10 General Authority Seventies and 55 Area Seventies during the Saturday afternoon session of the April 2019 general conference. He also announced a new Sunday School General Presidency to replace Brother Tad. R. Callister, Brother Devin G. Durrant and Brother Brian K. Ashton, who have served as a presidency for five years. Brother Mark L. Pace is the new president, with Brother Milton Camargo and Brother Jan E. Newman as his counselors.

General Authority Seventies serve in the Presidency of the Seventy, in area presidencies, and in other headquarters administrative functions. Under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, they travel frequently to meet with and teach Church leaders, missionaries and members of the Church in local congregations. They have authority to serve anywhere in the world, while the authority of Area Seventies is generally limited to the area where they serve.

Members of the Sunday School General Presidency advise on matters concerning Sunday School. All members of the Church age 12 and older are encouraged to participate in Sunday School classes, which are held twice a month as part of the regular weekly worship services. Its purposes are to teach the gospel of Jesus Christ and strengthen individuals and families.

Below are links to biographical information for new General Authority Seventies and members of the Sunday School General Presidency, as well as the names new Area Seventies:

General Authority Seventies

Elder Rubén V. Alliaud

Rubén Vicente Alliaud, 53, was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina. He married Fabiana Bennett in 1992. They are the parents of six children.

Elder Jorge M. Alvarado

Jorge Miguel Alvarado Pazo, 48, was born in Ponce, Puerto Rico. He married Cari Lu Rios in 1992. They are the parents of three children.

Elder Hans T. Boom

Hans Theodorus Boom, 55, was born in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He married Ariena Johanna Broekzitter in 1984. They are the parents of three children.

Elder L. Todd Budge

Lawrence Todd Budge, 59, was born in Pittsburg, California. He married Lori Capener in 1981. They are the parents of six children.

Elder Ricardo P. Giménez

Ricardo Patricio Giménez Salazar, 47, was born in Antofagasta, Chile. He married Catherine Ivonne Carrazana Zúñiga in 1997. They are the parents of two children.

Elder Peter M. Johnson

Peter Matthew Johnson, 52, was born in New York City, New York. He married Stephanie Lyn Chadwick in 1990. They are the parents of four children.

Elder John A. McCune

John Allen McCune, 55, was born in Santa Cruz, California. He married Debbra Ellen Kingsbury in 1984. They are the parents of four children.

Elder James R. Rasband

James Richard Rasband, 56, was born in Seattle, Washington. He married Mary Diane Williams in 1984. They are the parents of four children.

Elder Benjamin M. Z. Tai

Benjamin Ming Zhe Tai, 46, was born in Hong Kong. He married Naomi Toma in 1995. They are the parents of six children.

Elder Alan R. Walker

Alan Roy Walker, 48, was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina. He married Ines Marcela Sulé in 1993. They are the parents of one child.

Sunday School General Presidency

General Sunday School presidency (left to right) Milton Camargo, First Counselor; Mark L. Pace, President; Jan E. Newman, Second Counselor.2019.

Brother Mark L. Pace

Brother Pace was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, on January 1, 1957. He married Anne Marie Langeland in 1978. They are the parents of seven children and 17 grandchildren.

Brother Milton Camargo

Brother Camargo currently works as vice president of curriculum at BYU–Pathway Worldwide. He and his wife, Patricia, are the parents of three children and 13 grandchildren.

Brother Jan E. Newman

Brother Newman is a serial entrepreneur and has founded several successful software companies. He and his wife, Lucia, are the parents of six children and eight grandchildren.

Area Seventies

Solomon I. Aliche
Guillermo A. Alvarez
Daren R. Barney
Julius F. Barrientos
James H. Bekker
Kevin G. Brown
Mark S. Bryce
A. Marcos Cabral
Dunstan G. B. T. Chadambuka
Alan C. K. Cheung
Christian C. Chigbundu
Paul N. Clayton
Karim Del Valle
Hiroyuki Domon
Mernard P. Donato
Mark D. Eddy
Zachary F. Evans
Henry J. Eyring
Sapele Fa’alogo Jr.
David L. Frischknecht
John J. Gallego
Efraín R. García
Robert Gordon
Mark A. Gottfredson
Thomas Hänni
Michael J. Hess
Glenn M. Holmes
Richard S. Hutchins
Tito Ibañez
Akinori Ito
Jeremy R. Jaggi
Kelly R. Johnson
Christopher Hyunsu Kim
H. Moroni Klein
‘Inoke F. Kupu
Stephen Chee Kong Lai
Victor D. Lattaro
Tarmo Lepp
Itzcoatl Lozano
Kevin J. Lythgoe
Edgar P. Montes
S. Ephraim Msane
Luiz C. D. Queiroz
Ifanomezana Rasolondraibe
Eduardo D. Resek
Tomás G. Román
Ramon E. Sarmiento
Jonathan S. Schmitt
Vai Sikahema
Denelson Silva
Luis Spina
Carlos G. Süffert
Voi R. Taeoalii
Sergio R. Vargas
Markus Zarse

The following Area Seventies were released:

Victorino A. Babida
L. Todd Budge
Peter M. Johnson
John A. McCune
Mark L. Pace
James R. Rasband
Benjamin M. Z. Tai