The following is excerpted from the Church News. To read the full article, CLICK HERE.

With the latest announcement of seven temples identified for Phase 1 reopening on July 20, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has 122 of its 168 operational temples worldwide open or scheduled to be open for limited operations.

The seven announced Monday, July 13, to resume limited living husband-and-wife sealing ordinances after closure in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic include four in Brazil, where now only one of that country’s seven temples is still closed. The other three reopenings will be in England, Fiji and the state of California.

The seven temples scheduled for July 20 reopening are the four in Brazil — the Fortaleza Brazil, Manaus Brazil, Recife Brazil and São Paulo Brazil temples — as well as the London England, Oakland California and Suva Fiji temples.

Phase 1 temple reopenings to date by Church area include:

  • 83 of the 89 temples in the six North America and Utah areas, with two closed and four under renovation.
  • 11 of the 14 temples in the two Europe areas, with three closed.
  • 10 of the 12 temples in the Pacific and Philippines areas, with one closed and one under renovation.
  • Six of the seven temples in the Brazil Area, with one closed.
  • Four of the five temples in the two Africa areas, with one closed.
  • Four of the six temples in the two Asia areas, with two closed for renovation.
  • Two of the 14 temples in the two South America areas, with 12 closed.
  • Two of the 21 temples in the Caribbean, Central America and Mexico areas, with 19 closed.

In all, Phase 1 reopenings have occurred or will be occurring in 28 nations and 34 states.

To read the full article, CLICK HERE.