Sign up for Meridian’s Free Newsletter, please CLICK HERE

Cover image via Church Newsroom.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has announced the formation of eight new missions. These new missions will bring the total number of missions throughout the world to 407.

Here is a list of the eight new missions that will open beginning July 1, 2020:

  • Brazil Recife South
  • Cameroon Yaounde
  • Ecuador Guayaquil East
  • Ethiopia Addis Ababa
  • Mozambique Beira
  • Tanzania Dar es Salaam
  • Texas Austin
  • Texas Dallas East

The Church Newsroom explains:

Changes to mission boundaries occur regularly based on the needs and demands of each area around the world. These new missions will be created from the division of existing missions.

Missionaries for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints serve as volunteers at their own expense. Young men ages 18 to 25 serve for two years, while young women ages 19 to 39 serve for 18 months. Senior missionaries generally serve from six months to two years. Currently, there are more than 68,000 missionaries serving worldwide.