Sign up for Meridian’s Free Newsletter, please CLICK HERE

The First Presidency has announced changes to the way Church areas in the United States and Canada are administered. Effective August 1, areas in North America—previously overseen by members of the Presidency of Seventy—will be administered by area presidencies.

Beginning in 1984, the Church established areas to direct the work in geographic locations. For the past decade, the Presidency of the Seventy has had direct responsibility for Church areas in United States and Canada.

“The creation of area presidencies for the United States and Canada is an important step forward,” said President M. Russell Ballard, Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. “It allows these brethren to focus on the specific needs of each region, providing counsel and direction to regional and local leaders. It also gives the Presidency of the Seventy greater capacity to assist the Quorum of the Twelve in their work and fulfill other assignments.”

The Church currently has 15 areas outside North America and 10 inside for a total of 25. Six area presidencies have been created for the Church’s 10 areas in North America.

To read more about this change on, click here