The following is excerpted from the Church News. To read the full article, CLICK HERE.

In its weekly reopening of temples closed in March due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is reopening five more temples and advancing 10 more to a higher level of operation in its four-phase reopening plan.

As of Sept. 14, the Church will have 89 temples operating in Phase 2 and 56 others in Phase 1, with 145 of its 168 temples worldwide open for limited operations in either of the first two phases.

[dfads params='groups=2870&limit=1&orderby=random']

Today’s announcement on Newsroom includes 10 temples moving from Phase 1 to Phase 2 on Sept. 14, with five new temples reopening in Phase 1 on the same date.

Among the 10 Phase 2 reopenings include one in the United States, one in Spain, four in Brazil and the final three temples in Africa available to move from Phase 1. Phase 2 allows for the performance of all temple ordinances for living individuals.

The 10 temples to begin Phase 2 operations on Sept. 14 are:

  • Albuquerque New Mexico
  • Campinas Brazil
  • Curitiba Brazil
  • Durban South Africa
  • Johannesburg South Africa
  • Kinshasa Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Madrid Spain
  • Recife Brazil
  • Santo Domingo Dominican Republic
  • São Paulo Brazil

The five Phase 1 reopenings for Sept. 14, which allow for limited living husband-and-wife sealings, include:

  • Chicago Illinois
  • Monterrey Mexico
  • San José Costa Rica
  • Veracruz Mexico
  • Villahermosa Mexico

The Chicago Illinois Temple is last of the 84 available temples in the United States to reopen.

To read the full article, CLICK HERE.