The following is excerpted from the Church Newsroom. To read the full report, CLICK HERE.

Since May 2020, temples of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints have been reopening in a cautious, careful way, in five phases and based on local circumstances and governmental restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Temples in the first four phases are operating on a limited basis. Key precautions will be in place for temple workers and patrons according to local circumstances and government regulations and may include masks, reduced numbers of patrons in the temple at a time, fewer staff in the temple, sanitization after temple ceremonies, social distancing and seating arrangements, and temperature checks at the entrance.

The five phases of opening reduce risk, accommodate the demand and capacity of the temple and observe health restrictions in the temple district.

Phase Totals as of December 14, 2021

  • Phase 1: 2
  • Phase 2: 0
  • Phase 2-B: 4
  • Phase 3: 155
  • Phase 4: 0
  • Paused: 0
  • Closed (for Renovations): 10

See a full list of temples and their status as of December 14, 2021.

To read the full report, CLICK HERE.